Published On: Wed, Dec 19th, 2012

Female Reproductive System – Parts and Functions

Tagged with: | |

Posted under Category : Health Fundas

Female Reproductive System

Female Reproductive System

Parts of the Female Reproductive System:

Female Reproductive System consists of a

  • Pair of Ovaries
  • Fallopian Tube
  • Uterus

Female reproductive system consists of a pair of ovaries which are located just below the kidneys in the abdominal cavity.

Anatomy of Ovaries:

Each ovary have several sac like structures called as ovarian follicles or graffian follicles.

Each follicle have a large cell called ovum which is placed centrally in the follicle. The ovum is formed from a cell known as primary oocyte. When the ovum matures, the follicle ruptures and releases the ovum.

Basic Information on Female Sex Hormones:

Oestrogen and Progesterone: Each time only one follicle matures and releases the ovum into the body cavity. The ruptured follicle is converted to corpus luteum and it secretes female sex hormones namely oestrogen and progesterone.

Follicle stimulating hormone which is secreted by the pituitary gland stimulates the growth of the follicle and the leutinizing hormone secreted by the pituitary gland stimulates the rupturing of the follicle and its conversion into corpus luteum.

The ovum which is released from the follicle enters into a tube known as fallopian tube, the anterior end of this tube is like a funnel, with several finger like structures and it is also ciliated. The movement of cilia helps in the movement of ovum through the fallopian tube and into the uterus. Uterus is a strong muscular sac which opens into another muscular sac called as .

Fertilisation takes place in the fallopian tube.

Related posts

Recent Posts